Free Podcast | Strategic Planning for Artists

Join us for a new Free Art Marketing/Art Business Podcast on Tuesday, November 13th at 4:00 pm MST. (6:00 Eastern, 5:00 Central, 4:00 Mountain, 4:00 AZ, 3:00 Pacific). Join Xanadu…

Xanadu Gallery is Pleased to Offer Artist Writing Services [Announcement]

I have long declared that an artist’s biography is one of the most important tools I have in my sales tool box. While a potential buyer can certainly make a…

Apple Genius Training | Insight into How one of the Best Retailers in the World Teaches its Staff to Help Customers Buy

Tech blog Gizmodo recently got their hands on a copy of the training manual for Apple retail employees, or “Geniuses” as they are known in the Apple Store. Let me…

Ask A Gallery Owner: Why do Galleries Get Such High Commissions?

“I won’t work with galleries, the commission is too high!” I frequently hear some variation of this statement as I am conversing with artists. You’ve probably heard fellow artists say…

Discussion: Is Selling & Marketing Your Art Akin to Prostitution?

Several weeks ago, in my article, Artists, Are you Consistent I asserted that an artist who is more consistent in terms of subject-matter and style are more likely to experience sales…

Is the Physical Portfolio Dead?

Over the last several months, I have had several artists present portfolios to me on their tablet computer or smart phone instead of a traditional bound portfolio. While I have…

Read This: Photography & the Law: Fair Use

Back in October I raised the question about using someone’s likeness in art without their permission. The post was one of the most commented upon posts in our blog history….

Read This: Why Millennials Don’t Want to Buy Stuff

While I don’t ask my clients their age when they are making a purchase, it’s safe to say that a majority of my customers are in the 55-70 range. In…

Art Shipping Horror Stories (and how to avoid shipping problems)

Several weeks ago we received an order through our website for a painting by an artist from Europe. We contacted the artist and asked him to ship the piece to…

Great Ideas for Artists: Host a Studio Party

This weekend, as the heat continued to rise in Phoenix, Carrie and I made a much-needed escape from the gallery (and our children!) to the Arizona Mountain town, Prescott. We…